About Me

header ads


In the prestigious elections for Tripura Bar Association, the Lawyers panel affiliated to BJP captured twelve out of 15 seats living three seats for the leftists’ panel, which was held on Saturday.
The polls for Tripura Bar Association have started on Saturday morning from 9.00 AM and continue up to 1.30 PM. Out of 406 valid voters; altogether 382 lawyers cast their votes to elect 15 members executive committee of Tripura Bar Association.

Returning Officer and veteran lawyer, Sandip Datta Chowdhury said that advocate Sujit Banerjee from BJP panel has been elected as President of the Bar Association by defeating his nearest rival from left panel. The post of vice-president was won by BJP panel candidate Aravinda Deb.

Significantly, post of secretary of Bar Association was also won by BJP panel advocate Jiban Krishna Sen, which earlier won by Left Front panel candidate Bhaskar Debbarma. The two posts of assistant secretary were secured by BJP panel advocates Ashish Bhadra and Rana Gopal Chakraborty.

Among the 10 posts of executive members, the BJP panel won seven member posts and their rival Left Front got only three member posts. Elected three executive members from left panel are Mitali Nandi, Diptanu Debnath and Pulak Saha.