About Me

header ads


The ​Union Cabinet led by Prime Minister, Narendra Modi today (23.01.2019) approved a landmark amendment to Article 280 and the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution. The most important part of these amendments is that these will significantly improve the financial resources and administrative powers of the Autonomous District Councils of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura, fulfilling long standing aspirations of the tribal population in these North Eastern States.

The Finance Commission constituted by Union Government will now be specifically mandated to recommend devolution of financial resources to the ten Autonomous District Councils as well as the village and municipal councils in the Sixth Schedule areas. This will be a game changer, as it will substantially enhance the funds available to these local government institutions for undertaking development works in these tribal areas. The amendment also provides for constitution of State Finance Commissions in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura.The amendments will fulfill the commitments made under tripartite Memorandum of Settlements signed by Government of India, State Governments of Assam & Meghalaya, United People’s Democratic Solidarity(UPDS), Dima Halam Daogah(DHD) and Achik National Volunteers’ Council (ANVC).The amendments propose to rename the existing autonomous councils as Karbi Anglong Autonomous Territorial Council (KAATC), Dima Hasao Autonomous Territorial Council (DHATC), Garo Hills Autonomous Territorial Council (GHATC), Khasi Hills Autonomous Territorial Council (KHATC), Jaintia Hills Autonomous Territorial Council (JHATC) and Tripura Tribal Area Autonomous Territorial Council (TTAATC) as the present jurisdiction of these Councils extend to more than one districts.